Skip to content

Who Knew? They Knew!

February 18, 2012

There are those who shun Rupert Sheldrake and his book Dogs That Know When Their Owners Are Coming Home. I’m not one of those. Without aligning myself with Sheldrake’s concepts of morphic fields and morphic resonance, I can still feel inspired by the evidence of  “sixth sense” or “intuition” that I have seen expressed by dogs and other animals as well. I enjoy not feeling responsible for explaining it;  rather, I love introducing the possibility to people and sharing my experiences. Knowing about dogs’ intuitive sense has enriched my appreciation for dogs immeasurably and enhanced my life with them. I’ve had so many experiences with different dogs in my past, including a deaf and blind dog that still understood what was about to take place without being able to perceive any material clues. I won’t get into a listing of those, but I will share the most recent occurrence.

A friend who had never previously been to my house or met my dogs was due to arrive at my house at 6 p.m. one day. At about 5:58 p.m., both my dogs erupted with great excitement and ran to the front door (a door that is rarely used, and only used by “company”). I went to the door, thinking that I’d find my friend standing there. But I didn’t. I stepped outside and stood for a moment in the quiet of my rural environment. There was nothing happening to have aroused the dogs. Within several seconds, my friend’s car came into view and turned into my driveway. It was very convenient that I was standing there ready to greet her and assure her she had found the right place. I told her my dogs had told me she was coming, probably about the time she turned onto my road. It doesn’t even surprise me anymore, but I sure get a kick out of it. I’d like to have their ability!

I have experienced two instances of this intuitive sense coming to the aid in heartwarming ways with owners whom I was teaching who had severe physical limitations. Both individuals were learning with very large dogs that were as easily able to knock them flat as to look at them. But in both cases, the dogs learned the basic idea of what they were to be doing with their owners, and then that beautiful sixth sense guided them as to how they needed to do it, in each case in just the way that enabled their owners to be with them safely and utilize their assistance. . No training was necessary on that part of the program. Tears come to my eyes when I watch such things. Maybe it’s the light of unconditional love that enables them to perceive some things as clearly as they do. We are so privileged to be able to go through life with these remarkable animals as our friends, companions, and family members.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

